New Britain City Journal

New Britain's Weekly Online Newspaper

Feature News

Time to Vote: Election Day is Tuesday


Do not forget to get to the polls on Tuesday and vote for your favorite candidates.

This year the Mayoral election is led by Incumbent Republican Mayor Erin E. Stewart going for her third term against Democrat Merrill Gay.

Stewart boasts taking the City from a $30 million deficit to a $15 million surplus and boosting the City credit rating by four notches, growing our Grand List, adding more than 45 new businesses, and creating hundreds of new jobs.

“All across our City, there’s a new found energy that is attracting new developers and businesses, lots of exciting projects, and new visitors,” said Mayor Stewart. “We have been investing in our community like never before: more importantly, we are seeing the results.”

Gay, a board of education member, has been a statewide leader on education and early childhood issues for over a decade. He led efforts in New Britain to double the number of children attending preschool and wrote New Britain’s application to join the national Campaign for Grade Level Reading.

Gay said he is running for Mayor because New Britain faces real issues that have not been addressed: the increasing tax burden on residents; ballooning debt payments; threaten sale of city water resources; an education system that still needs work; and neighborhoods seemingly forgotten by city government.

Residents will also be voting for Common Council.

Republicans running are aldermen at large incumbents Tremell Collins, Jim Sanders, Jr., Daniel Davis, Daniel Salerno and newcomer Desiree Costa. Jamie Giantonio and Willie Pabon, will represent Ward 1. Kristian Rosado and Jerrell Hargraves will represent Ward 2. Jason Gibson and Joel Moret will run in Ward 3. Don Naples and Robert Smedley, will represent Ward 4. Miriam Geraci, Board of Education member and Carmelo Rodriguez, will seek seats in Ward 5.

Democrats endorsed a common council slate of two incumbents and 13 new candidates. Alderman at large includes Emmanuel Sanchez, Eva Magnuszewski, Yvonne Muniz, Katie Breslin and Richard Reyes. Ward 1 candidates are Veronica DeLandro and Molly McGuire; Ward 2 Lamar Bowsky and Brian Keith Albert; Ward 3 Iris Sanchez and Aram Ayalon; Ward 4 Robert Berriault and Michael Gendron and Ward 5 incumbent Carlo Carlozzi, Jr. and Francisco Santiago.

Three seats are up for the board of education.

Getting the nod for Board of Education by the Democratic party are incumbent Daisy Sanchez, Annie Parker and Violette Sims.

Republican incumbents Nick Mercier and Mallory Deprey are seeking re-election to the Board of Education as is newcomer Nancy Rodriguez.

Republicans also running include incumbents Mark Bernacki for town clerk, Cheryl Blogoslawski for tax collector and Mark Degrandis as treasurer.

The Democratic candidates are Ron Jakubowski for treasurer, Mark Bernacki for town clerk and Lanette Spranzo Macaruso for tax collector.

Voters are encouraged to register to vote prior to Election Day by visiting the registrar of voters on the fifth floor of City Hall or by calling 860-836-3310.

Polls are open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Two polling places were changed this year. If you formerly voted at New Britain High School, you will now vote at VFW Post 511, 41 Veterans Drive. If you formerly voted at Smalley School, voting will now take place at International Church, 40 Acorn St.